Saturday Evening Post

I had to work on this job between turkey dinner, the 49ers game, and desert during Thanksgiving. I always get a kick out of working for the Saturday Evening Post because of it’s legacy for illustration- it’s no secret I have an affinity for the golden age.

Despite it’s simpleness, I really enjoyed making this picture and was surprisingly pleased with the result; I’m not going to lie, when I got the approval I thought to myself “oh, that sketch?”. It wasn’t a question of art director’s judgment, it’s just that I normally get hired to draw full figures.  Regardless, I think that may be the reason I am excited about it; the stripped down and direct message. It accompanies an article about the depletion of our nations munition supplies and is meant to play up the idea of the old war propaganda posters from the 40’s.

thanks!

Leave a Reply

